Return to Headlines

Students Receive Recognition at 2019 FST Young Playwrights Festival

SARASOTA COUNTY, April 10, 2019 – Sarasota County Schools is pleased to announce that many students from various traditional public schools within the district were recently honored in the 2019 Florida Studio Theatre Young Playwrights Festival.

Florida Studio Theatre (FST) reported receiving submissions from over 6,000 young playwrights during the 2018-19 season. All submissions were read at least twice, both by FST team members and community volunteers, to find standout entries that best reflected a unique student perspective. FST looked for plays that demonstrated an “imaginative plot and character, a strong sense of rhythm in the dialogue, innate wisdom, and diverse themes”, among other criteria. In total, only 38 playwrights were selected for the prestigious awards.

Please join us in celebrating the following winners from our traditional public schools within Sarasota County:

  • Booker Middle School
    • Marielena Savino (8th grade) – Love Letters
  • Fruitville Elementary School
    • Alice Nouri (2nd grade) – The Star Who Could Not Twinkle
  • Garden Elementary School
    • Martin Serrano (2nd grade) – Ice Ice Birthday
    • Anezka Vodrazkova (3rd grade) – Myrtle the Turtle in Dangerous Waters
    • Viviana Serrano (5th grade) – A Matter of the Heart
  • Gulf Gate Elementary School
    • Shoshannah Lynch (1st grade) – Peanut Butter & Me
    • Alice Mills (1st grade) – Aquarium After Dark
  • Phillippi Shores Elementary School
    • Madison Brown, Harper Gratton, McKinley King and Ryland King (1st grade) – Two Terrified Teeth
  • Pine View School
    • Gianna Fotch (3rd grade) – The Loss I Had
    • Matrick Thorpe (6th grade) – The Refrigerator Zone
    • Matrick Thorpe (6th grade) – The Lonesome Tale of Phineas Fog
  • Sarasota High School
    • Cassandra Bradley (11th grade) – Half-Mast
  • Sarasota Middle School
    • Payton Erickson (7th grade) – Doug Saves the Day
    • Charlee Gasper (7th grade) – A Sunflower's Life
  • Tuttle Elementary School
    • Lahmar Aguila, Caroline Aguilera-Santiago, Genesis Arroliga Urbina, Emma Cordova, Alexis Hart, Jada Hicks, Ca'lashia Johnson, Andrea Licona-Fuantos, Tashara Loiseau, Omar Mendez Valladares, Damien Monroy-Castaneda, Isabella Muniz, Josue Ramirez-Gomez, Kirshana Samuels, Cynthia Santana, Zion Smalls, Kaliyah Williams, and Yeral Zaldivar (2nd grade) – Rosabell & Rob
  • Venice Middle School
    • Kaitlyn Cisneros-Lobo and Leah Fisher (7th grade) – Detention Caused It

Please click here for the full list of 2019 Winners and Honorable Mention Playwrights in the 2019 Young Playwrights Festival.


About Sarasota County Schools

Sarasota County Schools is committed to providing unrivaled academic, emotional and civic growth to every student, every day. As one of the leading employers on the Suncoast, Sarasota County Schools boasts 53 schools that expertly cater to the diverse needs of over 43,000 students. We are one of two Florida school districts to consistently earn an A-grade every year since 2004. Our passionate educators empower students to take charge of their academic and personal success, a practice we believe fosters lifelong growth and achievement. We actively maintain the district’s tradition of excellence and ensure that tradition extends to all students. Our commitment to our students extends beyond graduation to make sure they not only graduate on time, but do so college and career ready. Want to take your student’s education to the next level? Connect with us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, or visit