Return to Headlines

Buchanan Announces Congressional Teacher Award Recipients

from Congressman Vern Buchanan’s Office

SARASOTA, FLA, April 20, 2021 — Congressman Vern Buchanan announced today that seven teachers in Florida’s 16th Congressional District were chosen for the Congressional Teacher Awards.  

The Congressional Teacher Awards, established by Buchanan in 2014, are given out annually to exceptional Suncoast teachers for their outstanding achievements on behalf of students.  

“While they may not always receive the appreciation or recognition they deserve, teachers have one of the most important and difficult professions of all,” Buchanan said. “That is why I established the Congressional Teacher Awards -- to honor educators for the crucial role they play in our community and inspiring our younger generations.  This has been a challenging year for teachers and students – which makes this recognition all the more important.”  

This year’s award recipients include: 

Manatee County: 

  • Tammy Merrell for her accomplishments as a teacher at Samoset Elementary School.
  • Carol Mays Davis for her accomplishments as a teacher at Lincoln Memorial Academy.
  • Jeramiah Bowman for his accomplishments as a teacher at Braden River High School.


Sarasota County:

  • Kari Johnson for her accomplishments as a teacher at Fruitville Elementary School.
  • Judi Robson for her accomplishments as a teacher at Sarasota Middle School.
  • Jeanette Marks for her accomplishments as teacher at Sarasota Military Academy.


Hillsborough County:  

  • Timothy Mays for his accomplishments as a teacher at East Bay Senior High School.


“On behalf of all of my constituents in the 16th Congressional District, I congratulate each of these outstanding teachers and offer my sincere appreciation for their service and dedication,” concluded Buchanan. 

A total of 18 teachers who teach and live in Florida’s 16th District were nominated for the award by their principals. An independent panel of judges from Sarasota, Manatee and Hillsborough counties chose the recipients of the Congressional Teacher Awards. 

The seven winners were given a certificate and recognized by the congressman in the Congressional Record for their achievements. 

Photo, Left to Right:  Jeanette Marks, Tammy Merrell, Carol Mays Davis, Congressman Vern Buchanan, Jeramiah bowman, Timothy Mays, Judi Robson, Kari Johnson.