Return to Headlines

Sarasota County Schools Announces 40 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Sarasota County, FL, September 16, 2022 – Sarasota County Schools is proud to announce that 40 students have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.


The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High School students who meet published program entry and participation requirements enter the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). Per the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, each year's PSAT/NMSQT is the qualifying test designated for entry to a particular year's competition.


Per the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, of the 1.5 million entrants, around 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. In early September, more than 16,000 students – or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers – are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. Semifinalists are designated on a state-representational basis and are the highest scoring entrants in each state.


Please join us in congratulating the following traditional public schools and their National Merit Semifinalists:


  • Pine View School
    • Joseph Afflerbach
    • Thomas Bartlett
    • Nolan Boucher
    • Siara Brennan
    • Felicity Chang
    • Julian Chauhan
    • Scott Conrad
    • Caroline Deacon
    • Haley Gardner
    • Juna Hatta-Langedyk
    • Jacob Koshy
    • Cole Laudenslager
    • Nicole Laureno
    • Kevin Lovo Flores
    • Sarah Luo
    • Ryan Macler
    • Duncan Marmash
    • Pranav Mayor
    • Carter McCaa
    • Ethan Messier
    • Lora Rini
    • Andrew Ruffin
    • Aarna Shah
    • Clementine Silver Schwartz
    • Krystal Tran
    • David Vice
    • Jonathan Widjaja
    • Koele Winch
    • Yifan Zhang
    • Madison Zoernack
  • Riverview High School
    • Aiden Fitzgibbons
    • Aidan Hurwitz
    • Anson Nguyen
    • Mateo Rizzo
    • Haylie Smith
  • Sarasota High School
    • Jorge Romero Salgado
  • Venice High School
    • Isabella Gibbs
    • David O'Grady
    • Briar Stonehouse
    • Noah Whelden