Pupil Support Services

Education for Homeless Children and Youth

The Schoolhouse Link Porgram is a partnership between the Sarasota Family YMCA and the Sarasota County School Board.  The program serves as the district's official McKinney-Vento Homeless Liaison and provides services to help families and youth that are homeless and in transition.  The program's goal is to ensure that students in transition are able to enroll, attend and succeed in school.  Schoolhouse Link supports each student by helping create educational stability and by removing any barriers limiting their success.

Is My Family in Transition?
According to the federal McKinney-Vento Act reauthorized in 2001, a family is considered in transition (or homeless) if they lack a fixed, regular and adequate nightime residence.

Your Child's Rights:
Children and youth in transition who fit the McKinney-Vento definition have certain rights:

  • Enroll and attend school no matter where they live or how long they have lived there
  • Have access to the same public education as housed children
  • Enroll and attend classes while the school arranges for transfer of records required for enrollment
  • Continue in the school they attended before becoming homeless or the last school attended, if possible, and in their best interest
  • Request assistance with transportation to school
  • Receive the same special programs and services as provided to all other children in housing
  • Have any enrollment disputes heard and resolved while the student continues to attend classes

What Services does Schoolhouse Link Provide?
For more information go to www.Sarasota-YMCA.org/schoolhouselink

 

 



Pupil Support Services
Sonia Figaredo-Alberts, Executive Director
sonia.figaredo-alberts@sarasotacountyschools.net

Julie Zarling, Administrative Assistant
julie.zarling@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31109
Fax: 941-927-4052
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Exceptional Student Education
Tammy Cassels, Supervisor
tammy.cassels@sarasotacountyschools.net

Miriam Blosser, Administrative Assistant
miriam.blosser@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34226
Fax: 941-927-4014

Student Services
Debra Giacolone, Supervisor
debra.giacolone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Sally Dean, Administrative Assistant
sally.dean@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34754
Fax: 941-361-6157

School Health Services
Suzanne Dubose, Supervisor
suzanne.dubose@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34765
Fax: 941-927-4108

Florida Department of Health Sarasota County
Karen McCormack, Supervisor
karen.mccormack@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32101

Alternative Education, Discipline & Dropout Prevention
Dr. Dawn Clayton, Supervisor
dawn.clayton@sarasotacountyschools.net

Karen Frantz, Administrative Assistant
karen.franz@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31113

ESOL and Migrant Education
Jamie Rodriguez, Supervisor
jamie.rodriguez@sarasotacountyschools.net

FDLRS
Tracey Cardenas, Program Manager
tracey.cardenas@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32247

Tamika Herring-Snead, Administrative Assistant
tamika.herring-snead@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34330

Staff Listing

Tuesday
1/22/2019 - North County School Showcase

Wednesday
1/23/2019 - South County School Showcase

Thursday
1/24/2019 - 2019 STEMsmart Student Summit

Thursday
1/24/2019 - Woodland Middle Open House Showcase Stream Carnival

Thursday
1/24/2019 - Sarasota Middle School Open House Showcase

Click for Monthly Calendars