Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

A Media Statement About Bay Haven Teacher Taken Ill – April 27, 2018

 Permanent link   All Posts

SCS News

On Friday, April 20, a teacher at Bay Haven School took ill with an infectious disease that, as of today, is confirmed as Streptococcus pneumoniae. According to the Florida Department of Health in Sarasota, this is an isolated incident and not a public concern for our community. The school district has been given permission by the family to release this information to the public. 

Out of an abundance of caution, the school district has gone through two rounds of hospital-grade cleansing at Bay Haven to ensure the continued health and well-being of our students and staff, and we will continue to be diligent in our efforts. 

More importantly, we ask our school community to keep this teacher in your thoughts and prayers. The family is grateful for the love and support given during this difficult time, and we remain hopeful their health and well-being will continue to improve.

Anyone with concerns should check with their health care provider, or you can log on to the Florida Department of Health’s website to learn more.

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

TBA, Engineer

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing