Sarasota County Schools News

Sarasota Schools leadership team again recognized as Master Board

 Permanent link   All Posts

Master Board at FSBA Nov-Dec 2017Sarasota County School Board Nov 2016

MASTER BOARD: In top photo, members of the Sarasota County Schools governance team celebrate the designation of their governance team as a Master Board at the FSBA/FADSS Joint Conference in Tampa, held Nov. 28-Dec. 1. From left are Superintendent Todd Bowden and School Board members Caroline Zucker, Jane Goodwin and Shirley Brown. BOTTOM PHOTO: The Sarasota County Schools governance team, pictured from left, includes Eric Robinson, Caroline Zucker, Shirley Brown, Vice Chair Jane Goodwin, Chair Bridget Ziegler and Superintendent Todd Bowden.

SARASOTA, Dec. 8, 2017 — The Florida School Boards Association has once again recognized the Sarasota County Schools governance team — the five School Board members and the superintendent — as a Master Board. The FSBA awards the Master Board distinction to school boards in the state whose members complete a rigorous program designed to enhance leadership and teamwork skills.

The Sarasota County leadership team first achieved the Master Board designation in 1992. Its latest Master Board achievement was recognized at the 72nd annual Joint Conference of the FSBA and the Florida Association of District School Superintendents, held Nov. 28-Dec. 1 in Tampa.

When one or more members leave a school board, the Master Board distinction is lost and must be regained through the FSBA’s Master Board Reinstatement Program, which requires additional training for new and returning board members. Of the 67 school districts in Florida, 18 are currently recognized as Master Boards.

“The Master Board training helps us recognize our individual strengths and challenges as board members and how we can best contribute to the team,” said Caroline Zucker, who served as School Board chairwoman during the most recent FSBA Master Board reinstatement training.

On Nov. 28, Ziegler was elected by her fellow School Board members as chairwoman for a one-year term, succeeding Zucker. Goodwin was named vice chair. In addition to Ziegler, Goodwin and Zucker, the other School Board members are Shirley Brown and Eric Robinson. Todd Bowden is the superintendent.

According to an FSBA news release, the Master Board training program “is designed to strengthen the team’s ability to work effectively, efficiently and collectively, while maintaining a focus on student achievement and factors contributing to the success of schools.”          

Search News Articles

Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager

TBA, Engineer

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing