ESOL & Migrant Education

   

 Bienvenidos ¡Bienvenidos!

Parent Outreach

The Parent Outreach Program offers support services for students and parents. Parents may contact the ESOL Parent Outreach Facilitator for assistance (TEL. 941-927-9000 EXT. 34352). We serve ESOL students and their families by facilitating:

  • Communication between home, school, and the ESOL department,
  • Active and ongoing parent involvement in their children's education, and
  • Access to community services and resources.

Our Parent Outreach Facilitator can connect families with community resources, attend school meetings with ESOL parents, provide certain interpretation services for parents, advocate for ESOL parents, explain state testing and state standards to parents of ESOL students, and explain the parent's rights and responsibilities in the United States' educational system.

In addition, when available, the program provides academic resources for the home to improve English proficiency. Finally, the Parent Outreach Program strives to promote cross-cultural awareness between parents and school staff.
 

Call for information about the following programs
 

 
  • Tutoring services
  • School contacts
  • Adult English classes
  • Community resources
  • Community services
  • Pre-kindergarten
  • your child's education
  •  
     Littlleones

      

    Parent Leadership Council

    The Parent Leadership Council (PLC) consists of parents from several district schools. Parent Council Members are informed about the ELL Plan and asked for feedback. This plan is designed to show how the district will identify, assess, and monitor the appropriate delivery of services to English Language Learners.

    Every school is required to have one local (school-level) PLC meeting every year, and parents of all ESOL students are invited to attend. The purpose of this PLC meeting is to: explain the school's ESOL program, share student accomplishments, recognize student achievement, and celebrate the cultural diversity of the local school community.

    View the Florida Consent Decree,
    the State of Florida's framework for compliance with federal and state laws and jurisprudence regarding the education of ELL students.

    Our work is guided by the District ELL Plan  , which explains how educational opportunities and services are provided to bilingual and non-native speakers of

     

     

    Pupil Support Services
    Sonia Figaredo-Alberts, Executive Director
    sonia.figaredo-alberts@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Julie Zarling, Administrative Assistant
    julie.zarling@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31109
    Fax: 941-927-4052
    1960 Landings Boulevard
    Sarasota, Florida 34231
    Green 3rd Floor

    Exceptional Student Education
    Tammy Cassels, Supervisor
    tammy.cassels@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Miriam Blosser, Administrative Assistant
    miriam.blosser@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34226
    Fax: 941-927-4014

    Student Services
    Debra Giacolone, Supervisor
    debra.giacolone@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Sally Dean, Administrative Assistant
    sally.dean@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34754
    Fax: 941-361-6157 

    School Health Services 
    Suzanne Dubose, Supervisor
    suzanne.dubose@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34765
    Fax: 941-927-4108

    Florida Department of Health Sarasota County 
    Linda Glover, Supervisor
    linda.glover@sarasotacountyschools.net
    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32101 

    Alternative Education, Discipline & Dropout Prevention
    Bethany King, Supervisor
    bethany.king@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Patty Woods, Administrative Assistant
    patty.woods@sarasotacountyschools.net
    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31113 

    ESOL and Migrant Education
    Jamie Rodriguez, Supervisor
    jamie.rodriguez@sarasotacountyschools.net

    State & Federal Projects
    Jane Mahler, Supervisor
    jane.mahler@sarasotacountyschools.net

    Betsy Hooper, Administrative Assistant
    betsy.hooper@sarasotacountyschools.net
    Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34061 

    Staff Listing

    Thursday
    8/24/2017 - Charter Review Committee

    Thursday
    8/24/2017 - Brookside Middle Open House

    Thursday
    8/24/2017 - Tatum Ridge Open House (Kg-2nd Grade)

    Tuesday
    8/29/2017 - Woodland Middle Open House

    Tuesday
    8/29/2017 - Bay Haven PTO Open House (K-2nd)

    Click for Monthly Calendars